Lyndon L. Olson Jr.

Lyndon L. Olson, Jr. was the US Ambassador to Sweden from 1998-2001.

He previously served as President and CEO of Travelers Insurance Holdings, Inc., and the Associated Madison Companies, Inc. He has served as the President of the National Group Corporation, and he also has been President and Chief Executive Officer of the National Group Insurance Company. He was Chairman of the Texas State Board of Insurance from 1979 until 1981, and from February 1983 until August 1987. He also served as President of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners in 1982. He was appointed to the negotiation team on international reinsurance issues at the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development in Geneva, Switzerland, in 1987 and lectured to ASEAN nations in 1985 and 1989 at the United Nations Conferences on Trade and Development, Program of Insurance in Manila. He was one of the negotiators for the United States-Israeli Free Trade Agreement relating to services between the two nations; he led a Trade Delegation on Financial Services to Russia and China in 1985.

He served as a member of the Texas State House of Representatives from 1973 until 1978. During his tenure, he was a member of several committees and served as Chairman of the Committee on Higher Education, the Rules Subcommittee and the House Standing Committee on Local Government. In 1988, he was Co-Chairman of the Texas Delegation to the Democratic National Convention, and in 1974 he was Delegate to the Texas Constitutional Convention.

He has been the recipient of many honors and awards, including the Liberty Bell Award (McLennan County Bar Association), the Gates of Jerusalem Award (State of Israel), and the Baylor Young Outstanding Alumni Award. He also has been named “Outstanding Public Official” by the Texas Municipal League and “Distinguished Public Official” by the Texas Medical Association. Ambassador Olson graduated from Baylor University in 1969 and attended Baylor Law School, where he served as Freshman Class President and Chairman of the Law Student Division of the American Bar Association.

Ambassadorial Post(s)

Sweden, (1998 - 2001)

Areas of Expertise